ISC Fellows

The ISC Fellowship recognizes individuals for their outstanding contributions to the promotion of science as a global public good. The Fellowship is the highest honour that can be conferred on an individual by the International Science Council.

On June 9 2022 the Council announced the creation of a Fellowship and appointment of 66 Foundation Fellows who are recognized for their outstanding contributions to promoting science as a global public good.

The Fellows include eminent scientists, engineers and thought-leaders from the science-policy sphere who have made remarkable contributions to furthering understanding of and engagement with science. As scientific experts and as knowledge brokers, they uphold the ISC’s vision of science as a global public good, of knowledge that is shared openly and freely to all who wish to scrutinize it and to use it to further understanding.

We want to clearly recognize those scientists who have and continue to contribute to the global voice for science. In that way we expand our footprint and our voice. Science needs champions, not just those who receive high profile scientific prizes but champions who can give voice to the global voice for science.

Peter Gluckman, President of the International Science Council.

From 2022, an annual process of requesting nominations from ISC Members and other partners will be put in place, with the aim of increasing the ISC Fellowship to around 600 active Fellows. Through their scientific leadership and work to promote science in the public domain, the ISC Fellows will support the ISC’s mission to act as the global voice for science.

Foundation Council

The Fellows are led by the Foundation Council, which comprises 13 members including 2 ex officio members, who will provide leadership for the development of the Fellowship.

Peter Gluckman

ISC President, ex officio

Motoko Kotani

ISC President-elect, ex officio

The 66 Foundation Fellows

Salim Abdool KarimMotoko Kotani
Ernest AryeeteyMelissa Leach
Karina BatthyányYuan Tseh Lee
Françoise BaylisJinghai Li
Sumaya bint El HassanJames C. Liao
Geoffrey BoultonCarlos Lopes
Jean-Pierre BourguignonJane Lubchenco
Lidia BritoAlberto Martinelli
Melody Brown BurkinsPamela Matson
Craig CalhounGordon McBean
Richard CatlowKhotso Mokhele
Mei-Hung ChiuHelena Nader
Saths CooperCarlos Nobre
Luiz DavidovichConnie Nshemereirwe
Anna DaviesPaul Nurse
Mamadou DioufTolullah Oni
Pearl DykstraWalter Oyawa
Mark FergusonMaria Paradiso
Sirimali FernandoPeter Piot
Ruth FincherRémi Quirion
Terrence ForresterDaya Reddy
Peter GluckmanElisa Reis
Ke GongJohan Rockström
Heide HackmannJeffrey Sachs
Zakri HamidFlavia Schlegel
Yuko HarayamaSawako Shirahase
Mohamed HassanMagdalena Skipper
Anne HusebekkNatalia Tarasova
Alik Ismail-ZadehAlbert van Jaarsveld
Maria IvanovaRenée van Kessel
Takaaki KajitaKrishnaswamy VijayRaghavan
Eugenia KalnayCédric Villani
Marlene KangaMartin Visbeck


Skip to content